Through the Years

In a way it feels like such a long time ago, but in another way it feels just like yesterday…everytime I look back it’s always a surprise to see how much we’ve been through, how long we’ve been together. But I feel so cozy, a feeling like I’ve known him for ages…

I was looking back through my photo files…it feels so strange, I know it’s been a long time ago, yet somehow it’s still fresh inside my memory.

Val04 This was my first valentine in Holland – our first valentine’s together, so everything felt extra special :). Tulips were still a big thing to me, I liked it more than those long stemmed blood red roses. I suppose somehow Itsco noticed that :). Val042The tulips were really georgeous, even better the days after. We went to a cande lit restaurant by the beach, and for our drive to get there I’ve prepared a card game – filled with questions we each had to answer. It was so much fun since there were still lots of things about each other that we didn’t know back then, and we still blushed about certain questions…

Val051The next year, I baked him a tray of his favourite chocolate chip cookies and put a love letter in the center. Val052That year I’ve finished studying but couldn’t work yet since I had to wait for my work permit, so I couldn’t get any fancy gifts.  In replace, I made a huge jar of cookies and a dozen of little ‘love coupon’ cards which he can redeam any time :). I can still remember that it took me a long time to figure out what to write on those coupons! I remember that year he gave me white flowers instead of red…I think he knows that with me, "the only constant is change" haha šŸ˜›

Val061 Then on last year’s Valentine, he proposed to me… Totally out of the blue, since we were in Indo, I had no idea he already had a ring, and we were in the middle of a photoshoot. Val062Even when he went down on his knee I still had no clue what he was about to do. In the end I was crying and didn’t even remember to say yes :). He just has his own way of showing me how he does the extra mile when I least expect it. And I love surprises :). Thank God I never have red eyes after crying – I can cry the whole night long and there wouldn’t be any trace left in the morning :P.

And this year? We didn’t do anything :). Itsco was sick and I also wasn’t at my best, so this year’s Valentine isn’t going to be on th 14th. And it feels cozy, just the way it is – we’re together everyday, a special day seems unnecessary – but then again, it’s always nice to have days when you do put everything else aside just to make your loved one feel even more special and loved, don’t you think? The date is the least important then šŸ™‚

~ by Anita Fei on February 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
