Conferring Conference

I’m going to another conference tomorrow, here in Holland. It’s about 100 Years Levinas. Who? Emmanuel Lévinas, a French Philosopher deeply influenced by 2 German Philosophers, Edmund Husserl and Martin Heideger. Yes, you go ‘who?’ again, don’t you? Me too.

I don’t know whether I should focus on the info about the conference itself, but it’s really no use – never in a hundred years am I going to understand what these philosophers are talking about.

The other option is to dig some background about the important people attending the conference. People who knows people who knows people who are top leaders in their field. Nobel prize winner wannabes. – is there a nobel for philosophers?? eehh…don’t think so…

So I guess if I stay in this work field, I’m going to go and meet people. Oh, this is kinda ironic. My publisher is scheduled to meet Pope Benedictus later this year, right. Well, she was actually scheduled to meet the late pope too. Right after September 11, so she wasn’t allowed to go out of the country. With the treat *this* Pope is getting, I hope she doesn’t have to cancel again.

Anyway, I gotta get back back to my box of knowledge, only a few more hours before the conference!!

~ by Anita Fei on September 21, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
