Woking Chops

Hmm..I think I’ve bloged this picture once, but I don’t remember giving out the recipe. Well, I should. It’s so simple and dilicious that it’s a sin to keep it all for myself :P. I got the recipe from my Popoh (that’s grandma in Chinese) and eversince then I’ve learned not to under estimate simple recipes :).

Since I’m used to the ‘bite sized’ bakut in indo, I usually ask the butcher (or boyfriend, haha) to chp them up. But I guess leaving them in long strips doesn’t harm the taste! Since my popoh didn’t have proper measurement, I never really measured mine properly – I think I used 1/2 cup = 1 ‘part’ measurement for almost 1 kg pork chops. As long as the liquid covers the pork totally.

The ingredients themself are quite versatile, if you’re more into sweet glazings, just switch the proportions for soya and sugar!

4-3-2-1 Pork Chops

PorkChops Ingredients:
pork ribs (I know it as bakut)
– 4 parts water
– 3 parts soy sauce (the salty one)
– 2 parts sugar
1 part vinegar
Five spice powder

Woking it:

  • Now, put all the bakut and the rest of the ingredients in the wok, set fire on high to get things boiling. I usually continue to boil on medium and stir every now and then til the water reduces.
  • When the water is almost syrup consistency (this might take a while), turn heat down to prevent chops from burning, and stir every now and then.
  • After a while the syrup will coat the chops and the fat will start to melt. I like to let it fry until it’s a bit dryer and it’s charred here and there. That’s how I get the BBQ taste. Just dont over do it.

If you simmer it quite slowly (mine took a bit over an hour from finish to start due to the large quanity) the ingredients seep in even without the need of marinading beforehand – and it also gives a savoury glaze to the chops.

Just watch how fast these chops disappear 🙂

~ by Anita Fei on September 20, 2006.

One Response to “Woking Chops”

  1. That looks TOO good…I’m a sweety so I’ll go with that 😉

Leave a Reply

 
