Biscuits

Yet another food blog. šŸ˜€

Meet one of my old time favorite: BISCUITS. Ever since I was a little kid I’ve loved this simple quick bread! I was so overjoyed when I found the more or less same version in Popeye, years and years afterwards. But the price was just ridiculous when compared to baking it yourself! Besides, baked goods are always best fresh from the oven :D.

This one is Cheddar Biscuits, made with shredded cheese and sprinkled with parsley…

I don’t use biscuit mix though, never seen what it actually looks like. But for the recipe above I made the mix by combining:

  • 200 gr flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • pinch of salt

Then with a pastry cutter (or I just use 2 knives used as scissor) cut in

  • 70 gr shortening (NOT butter or margarine – shortening gives the flaky texture to the biscuits!)

Just remember not to stir too much, or else the bisquits will be tough…

~ by Anita Fei on September 29, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
