Cappuccino Cheesecake

There are a few new habits that I’ve picked up, living in this new country. I noticed that when someone’s invited for dinner, they would show up bringing something small, to thank the host I suppose. Most of the time it would be something simple like wine, or sometimes they’d offer to bring a cooking of their own. Other times, they might bring you flowers. It kinda depends on the occasion I suppose…

But I don’t know if this is really the habit of ‘real’ Dutch ppl, as a lot of my friends are not Dutch… think … think… no, I think it’s quite fair to say that it’s Dutch ppl’s habit, since most of my Dutch girlfriends would bring a little something over when they come over. The guys? Well, when they’re young (aka students :P), without a girlfriend to remind them, they’d most likely show up empty handed. Or with a pack of beer. Well, welcome to Holland…

Anyway, if you’ve read my previous bloggings, I’ve mentioned that I usually take whatever chance time offers me to experiment on a recipe… As I was invited over for dinner by 2 lovely coffee addict, I decided to make a Cappuccino Cheesecake.

However, I made some alterations! Instead of water+coffee I used Tia Maria, and I used 70% cacao chocolate bar. I tried the bit of what was left after the mixture was poured into the springform pan, and it was bitter. I don’t like chocolate n I don’t expect what ever I taste to convert me into a chocolate lover, but what I tasted was REALLY bitter. That’s when I thought of topping it with another recipe I found in this terrific site, from the Gateau Africain recipe. Instead of real oranges I used grated orange skin (smaller than the ones in the pic), and I made sure it was sweet enough to balance the cheesecake’s sweetness.

The result was like this, a yummie (not to mention VERY heavy :P) blend of chocolate-coffee-orange :D!

~ by Anita Fei on September 16, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
